Longhorns Rack Up Big 12 Conference Awards


While it’s safe to say this season wasn’t our Longhorns’ finest hour, the team had no problem racking up quite a few 2011 All-Big 12 Conference Awards today.

Texas’ only individual honor went to true freshman cornerback Quandre Diggs for Freshman Defensive Player of the Year, making it the fifth time in league history that a Longhorn has won the award.

Diggs, who had a stellar season that included a team-high three interceptions, 43 tackles, and 17 kickoff returns for 324 yards, also landed a spot on the All-Big 12 second team.

The individual and team award winners were chosen by the Big 12’s 10 head coaches, who were unable to vote for their own players.

The other Longhorns who made the cut were:

All-Big 12 First Team

  • Fozzy Whittaker, senior kick/punt returner
  • Emmanuel Acho, senior linebacker
  • Alex Okafor, junior defensive end
  • Kenny Vaccaro, junior safety

All-Big 12 Second Team

  • Jackson Jeffcoat, sophomore defensive end
  • Keenan Robinson, senior linebacker
  • Kheeston Randall, senior defensive tackle
  • Quandre Diggs, freshman cornerback

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

  • Carrington Byndom, sophomore defensive back
  • Blake Gideon, senior safety
  • Cody Johnson, senior running back
  • Jaxon Shipley, freshman wide receiver
  • David Snow, senior lineman
  • Justin Tucker, senior kicker
  • Mason Walters, sophomore offensive lineman

Quandre Diggs, #28, during the game against Oklahoma State. Photo courtesy Texas Sports.


Tags: , , ,


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment