UT Men’s Golf Wins National Championship

Light the Tower burnt-orange: The members of The University of Texas’ men’s golf team are national champs once again. The No. 2 team pulled out a thrilling victory today to top No. 1 seed Alabama and win the NCAA men’s golf championship.

It is the team’s third National Championship and its first since winning back-to-back titles in 1971 and 1972, when PGA Tour golfers and major championship winners Ben Crenshaw and Tom Kite were on the team.

Senior All-American Dylan Frittelli birdied the 18th hole to lift the Longhorns to a 3-2 victory at Riviera Country Club in Los Angeles. Frittelli, who is from South Africa, sunk the 30-foot putt in his tied match against Alabama’s Cody Whitsett.

Alabama took the first two of the five matches. Hunter Hamrick defeated junior Julio Vegas 6 and 5, while Bobby Wyatt knocked in a 30-foot chip from behind the green to down sophomore Toni Hakula, 1 up.

UT won the next two matches. Jordan Spieth beat fellow freshman, Justin Thomas, 3 and 2, while junior Cody Gribble went 3-0 in match play, defeating Scott Strohmeyer, 2 and 1—and leaving Frittelli to earn the championship and the team’s eighth tournament win of the season.

The title is UT’s 46th all-time NCAA Championship team title and 50th overall National Championship.

Twitpic courtesy @Golfstat


Tags: , ,


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment