Law School Dean Resigns at President’s Request

The dean of UT’s law school, Larry Sager, has resigned—effective immediately—at the request of his predecessor, now-President Bill Powers.

Sager announced over the summer that he planned to step down after the 2012 school year. Apparently, Powers opted not to wait that long.

In a letter to the law faculty today, Powers explained that he had hoped to make it through Sager’s last year and avoid appointing an interim dean but that doing so “is now not possible.” Powers cited “deep divisions” among the law faculty and “concerns about compensation and gender inequalities.”

Professor Stefanie Lindquist has been named interim dean, and Sager, while no longer dean, will remain on the faculty.

Update: the Texas Tribune has posted an open-records request that has been, as they say, making the rounds. They also have Sager’s seven-page resignation letter.

Message to Law Faculty 12-8-11

Photo by Marsha Miller


Tags: , , , , ,



Post a Comment